Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo

IMG_2372I only need three words to describe this book.

It was AMAZING.

I will try to keep these reviews spoiler free, but the ending was great, everything leading up to the ending was great, and I am looking forward to the day the next book, Crooked Kingdom, comes out this fall.

For those who haven’t really heard of this book, you need to look it up and read it right away. It’s about this teenage criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker who is offered the chance at a lot of money if he can pull off the improbable heist of breaking into the Ice Court and out with a very valuable prisoner. He puts together this mismatched crew of 5 other teenagers, who have just as complicated pasts as he does, and they all set out on a crazy journey.

I will be honest and say that the first couple of chapters were difficult to get into. Six of Crows is a fantasy, adventure book that launches the reader into the middle of the lives of these characters. Bardugo builds a rich world and introduces many names that are kind of weird or spelled in unconventional ways. Since I haven’t read much fantasy lately, it was a bit confusing at first. But when I started to get into it, the main cast was sorted out and I got used to this new world.

Bardugo did such a good job with every character. The book is in third person and switches points of view every chapter, but I still felt engaged no matter who was narrating. With some books narrated in that manner, I’m sometimes compelled to skip to the characters I’m most interested in, but each held their own. Six of Crows boasts six leads and I felt like each character was distinct and kept the story moving. It didn’t get bogged down and while there was some overlap, time kept moving.

But what I really liked about how Bardugo created her characters was how flawlessly she intertwined stories from their past. Each character was complex and had multiple layers to them. They all had important part of their past that have made them into the people they are in the book’s timeline and Bardugo did an incredible job at revealing them. I really love characters that have an unreliable aspect to them and characters that walk along the edge of good and evil, and I thought they were portrayed in a perfect way.

Plot wise, I thought that Bardugo was quite original, mostly because of the many subplots. It was action packed from the beginning to end and the slow moments were created with care as to not slow down the pacing.  And while heists in books, movies, and TV always push the luck awarded to the heroes, I think she made their gains and setbacks a bit more convincing.

Overall, I would give this book 5 out of 5 stars. I loved the writing, the characters, the story, the world, and everything else. I am wondering if I should’ve read the Grisha Trilogy though…maybe in the summer.

Belinda

4 thoughts on “Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo

  1. amusingfromyourfriend

    I have been wanting to read this book for a while now and your post definitely persuaded me to do so even more! Also, might I add, I love the way you set-up your pictures and add little cut-outs around the book that match the theme of the novel. It’s so creative and I can tell you put in a lot of effort to capture the perfect picture! I look forward to reading your future posts 🙂

    Like

    • Belinda

      Wow! Thank you so much for saying that! Creating art to accompany book photos is my theme on instragram and I’m really happy with how it adds uniqueness to my photos. Thank you for noticing that. And Six of Crows is a wonderful book. I hope you enjoy it when you read it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

