Summer Reading Wrap-Up!

Processed with Snapseed.


Yesterday was my last official day of summer since today was the first day of school. So I wanted to do a wrap-up post with 37 of the books I read this summer with the ratings I gave them on Goodreads tweaked to account for .5’s that Goodreads doesn’t allow and a possibility a little blurb for some of them. I might also add more blurbs later too, but before I get started on all that, I want to give a little background info on how I rate books.

I would say that I’m a super generous rater. If I really enjoyed a book or even if it really, really impacted me emotionally, I will be more forgiving with any flaws. So most of the time I do give books high ratings, but that doesn’t necessarily mean all five star books are equal. Some of the books are also reread and I also take into account how much I loved the books the first time I read them, even though it’s been years. I’m also rather picky about the books I read and I do a lot of research to see if I’ll like them beforehand. Most of the time I’m pretty good at picking books that I end up reading and loving, so that would be why there aren’t any books rated below 3 stars.

5 Stars : img_7614

4.5 Stars: 4.5.jpg

4 Stars: 4

3.5 Stars: 3.5.jpg

3 Stars: 3.jpg

And there isn’t anything on this list below that.

Now without further ado here’s the list:

Fantasy / Dystopian:

The Heir – Kiera Cass 4

  • A heard a lot of negative things about Eadlyn and this continuation of the story that began with America and Maxon, but I enjoyed these last two books. Eadlyn is very bratty and selfish in the beginning, but at the same time I could understand why and I could really relate to some of the things she was going through, like the pressure to always excel and prove yourself in a place where people doubt you. And I think she really grows a lot of throughout these two books.

The Crown – Kiera Cass 4

The Rose & The Dagger – RenΓ©e Ahdieh 4.5.jpg

The Dream Thieves – Maggie Stiefvater img_7614

  • Ronan Lynch!

Blue Lilly, Lilly Blue – Maggie Stiefvater img_7614


The Raven King – Maggie Stiefvater4.5.jpg

  • I never realized how much I truly loved this series and these incredible characters until I started reading this book and there was just this ominous cloud hanging over saying, “This is the end. Gansey is going to die.” I loved it, but the only reason why it’s missing half a star is because I still have so many questions. I just want to know exactly what happened to everyone. But I am definitely going to reread this series one day.

Truthwitch – Susan Dennard img_7614

  • I went into this book with lowered expectations, but it was so good. I loved how it centers on friendship and girl power. And since it was partly inspired by Avatar: The Last Airbender and the ship of Katara and Zuko, I loved seeing all of the parallels.

A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas img_7614


A Court of Mist and Fury  – Sarah J. Maas img_7614

  • Sarah J. Maas is the queen! For the entire time I was reading and the following weeks afterwards, every other thought going through my mind was ACOMAF, Velaris, and Rhysand (my love!). This book absolutely destroyed me.

The Assassin’s Blade – Sarah J. Maas img_7614

Throne of Glass – Sarah J. Maas img_7614

  • Celaena Sardothian is me in book format. I’m not an assassin and I’d like to say I’m not as terrible as she is – because even though she’s the heroine and she is most amazing, strong, resilient, intelligent, beautiful person ever, she can be rather terrible – but when I read her, she has the same voice that I have when I’m writing and it just feels so personal to me and I just loved it, every book, every chapter, every page, every second of this series, I loved it.

Crown of Midnight – Sarah J. Maas img_7614

Heir of Fire – Sarah J. Maas img_7614


Queen of Shadows – Sarah J. Maas img_7614

The Beauty of Darkness – Mary E. Pearson4

City of Bones – Cassandra Clare 4

City of Ashes – Cassandra Clare 4.5.jpg


City of Glass – Cassandra Clare 4.5.jpg

City of Fallen Angels – Cassandra Clare 4.5.jpg

 

Contemporary:

The Wrong Side of Right – Jenn Marie Thorne 4.5.jpg


To All The Boy’s I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han img_7614

  • No doubt one of my all time favorite contemporaries ever! Lara Jean and Peter will forever be in my heart. This series is so cute. I smiled the entire time reading it. And I personally feel like I can relate a lot to Lara Jean.

P.S. I Still Love You – Jenny Han img_7614

The Unexpected Everything – Morgan Matson 4.5.jpg

  • My first Morgan Matson book and I really enjoyed it. I was first very skeptical about the length and it truly could’ve been told in less pages, but I actually didn’t mind it. I loved the relationships in this book, Andie and her father, Andie and Clark, the dynamics of their friend group. I also loved the coming of age aspect of it. I think Andie has a wonderful arc throughout this book.

Love & Gelato – Jenna Evans Welch 4

Dreamology – Lucy Keating 4

  • No book has really made me laugh as much as this book. I say it’s not perfect because the climax was rather anticlimactic, but it’s so fun and cute and quirky. I loved it.

One Paris Summer – Denise Grover Swank3.5.jpg

Girl Against the Universe – Paula Stokes4


The Edge – Roland Smith 4

Love, Lucy – April Lindner 3.5.jpg

My Life Next Door – Huntley Fitzpatrick img_7614

  • I went into the book thinking it would be a light and fun summer read, but I was wrong. There is soooo much more to this book and a really important message about judging others. I loved Jase, he’s so good and kind and loving, and I loved the relationship he had Samantha. I felt like it was really genuine and honest. And this book also has a great message about growing up and taking responsibility, especially in Tim’s character, who has such a wonderful arc throughout the books. I went from holding my breath in every time he appear, scared of what he would do next, to absolutely loving him. Also, the last 100 pages were some of the toughest pages I have ever read. I was honestly, crying and I felt like I couldn’t breathe. It was so emotional.

Stormbreaker – Anthony Horowitz  img_7614

 

Sci-Fi:

Illuminae – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff img_7614

  • You know you love a book when you read it in paper format and then pick up the audiobook and reread the entire thing. Illuminae is one of the coolest books I’ve ever read and I can’t praise the audiobook enough. It’s read with multiple voices and sound effects, and some of the performances are so haunting, I’m getting chills just thinking about it. I also thought it was really unique and refreshing. It has definitely gotten looking for more sci-fi, so hopefully this section will be longer in the future. But what I loved most about this, other than the super fun characters, is that Kady saves the day using her brains and her intelligence.

Graphic Novels:

 

Persepolis – Marjane Satrapi img_7614

Maus – Art Spiegelman img_7614

  • Being about the Holocaust, this definitely wasn’t an easy read, but I think it tells a really powerful story in a really powerful way. But what I loved most was the relationship between Art and his father, because in them, I could see a lot of my relationship with my father.

American Born Chinese – Gene Luen Yang img_7614

V for Vendetta – Alan Moore 3.jpg

 

Nonfiction:

Hamilton: The Revolution – Lin Manuel Miranda img_7614

  • When I finished this book I put my head on the table and asked myself, “what is my life?” I love Hamilton and it is really revolutionary and innovative and powerful. To see the background of how it was developed, annotations in the lyrics, and the incredibleness of what Lin and the rest of the cast and crew has created was just so inspiring.

 

 

If you’ve made it this far, thank you so much for reading. I know this was super long. And like I said earlier, I might go back and fill in more blurbs or actually post some full reviews on some of the books. We’ll see. πŸ™‚

Love Always and Happy Reading,

Belinda

 

Leave a Reply

