Fall Reading Wrap-Up!

29 books over fall (semester)! The semester actually ended on the same day as the first day of winter, so technically this is my Fall Wrap-Up.

I’m actually pretty surprised I was able to read so much because this semester was so chaotic with my solo piano recital and concerto competition on top of my crazy school load. I mean, piano is part of my school load as a piano performance major, but preparing for both of those things took a lot of work.

A big part of why I got so much read was that I started listening to audiobooks. My commute to and from school everyday usually totals to over an hour, which is a great time to get some reading done. I think 7 of these I read, or partially read, as an audiobook.

A little bit on how I rate books. I am a rather generous reader. If I absolutely love something, even if it’s flawed, I will probably still give it a high rating. Usually, I’ll do a lot of research about each book before I actually pick it up, so it’s really rare that I find something that I really dislike. Also if a book is a reread, I may also take into account how much I loved the book the first time around.

The books will be rated out of 5 stars, and some will also have little blurb reviews or links to full reviews. Most of the books I’ve also reviewed on my bookstagram:  @bookstorm , so you can find out more about my thoughts there.

Fantasy / Dystopian :

City of Lost Souls – Cassandra Clare img_7614

Steelheart – Brandon Sanderson 4-5


The False Prince – Jennifer A. Nielsen img_7614

  • I reread this entire series for the most part in audiobook format and still it remains one of my all-time favorites. I love Sage’s character. He’s so smart and witty. I love his voice and I love that he’s an unreliable narrator.

The Runaway King – Jennifer A. Nielsen img_7614

The Shadow Throne – Jennifer A. Nielsen img_7614

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs 4


Hollow City – Ransom Riggs img_7614

Rebel of the Sands – Alwyn Hamilton 4

  • This book wasn’t perfect and there were quite a bit of times where I was confused reading this. I think if the book was a hundred pages longer, more of the story elements could’ve been flushed out, but the characters, the world, and the plot were so great I easily overlooked it. I loved how this book mixes a mid-eastern setting and mythology with the wild west. There’s an amazing, strong female main character in Amani and a really fun love interest in Jinn, who I absolutely adore.And the beginning also gives me some Cinderella vibes.

Shatter Me – Tahereh Mafi img_7614

  • This series absolutely shattered me. The second I got hooked on Shatter Me, I couldn’t stop. I skipped all my homework and just finished it in one night. Then on a different day I finished Unravel Me, Ignite Me, and Unite Me. Ask me what happened in each of the books and I may not be able to tell you, it’s kind of all a blur. The reason I loved this series so much is pretty much because of the characters. Juliette’s character arc is so powerful. It’s one of the best I’ve read. And since it is written in first person POV from her perspective, we actually get to see her transformation and growth in the actually writing. And Tahereh’s writing is just amazing, so beautiful, poetic, and unique. Also Kenji is hilarious and Warner is my love!

Unravel Me – Tahereh Mafi img_7614

Ignite Me – Tahereh Mafi img_7614

Unite Me – Tahereh Mafi 4

  • Fracture Me 4
  • Destroy Me 4

Crooked Kingdom – Leigh Bardugo 4-5

Sci-Fi:

Gemina – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff img_7614


Cinder – Marissa Meyer img_7614

  • I think one of the best things about this book is that while it is a Cinderella retelling, I could never guess what would happen next. Marissa Meyer’s writing is incredible and the world of the Lunar Chronicles is so unique. I love Cinder’s character. She’s so smart, strong, and independent. And Kai, our prince charming, I absolutely love him and how genuine he is an how he strives to do good.

Contemporary:

Until Friday Night – Abbi Glines 4

  • I will say that in some ways this series is cliché and formulaic. It reads like New Adult. It’s got the player bad boys, the stereotypical high school cast and drama, but I loved it. They are so much fun. I devoured both of them in probably around 4-5 hours each. While they very much scream high school romance, they also cover some heavy topics, like abuse, death of a parent, suicide, guilt, and more, and I think they’re given a really realistic portrayal. I also really loved how the female characters are really strong and independent in these books. And as a lover of sport-related fiction, I enjoyed that they were about football.

Under the Lights – Abbi Glines 4-5

P.S. I Like You – Kasie West 4-5

  • This was such a cute book. I loved the idea of note passing and speaking through letters and I loved how music plays such a huge role in this book. I loved all the banter between Lily and Cade. It was so much fun to read.

Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell 4


Challenger Deep – Neal Shusterman img_7614

The Sun is Also a Star –  Nicola Yoon 4-5

The Boy Most Likely To – Huntley Fitzpatrick 3.5

Diplomatic Immunity – Brodi Ashton 3

Graphic Novels:

Ms. Marvel, Vol.1 : No Normal – Willow G. Wilson img_7614

  • What is cooler than a teenage Muslim Pakistani-American female superhero? I absolutely loved these comics / graphic novel bind-ups. Kamala Khan is a super smart girl who really wants to do good and help people. I think she’s an incredible role model. She’s really relatable with her struggle to find her identity and the balance between both American and Pakistani culture. I love how loyal she is to her family. And I also love how supportive her family and the leader of her Mosque are. It’s so important that we have positive portrayals of Muslims in the media and popular culture and I think these comics do such a good job at that. Also there are some really fun team-ups throughout this series: Loki, Wolverine, Iron Man, Captain Marvel.

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 2 : Generation Why – Willow G. Wilson 4

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 3 : Crushed – Willow G. Wilson img_7614

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 4 : Last Days – Willow G. Wilson img_7614

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 5 : Super Famous – Willow G. Wilson img_7614

Non-Fiction / Poetry:

milk and honey – Rupi Kaur

  • I’m leaving this book unrated for now because I’m just not sure how I feel about it yet. I really believe how much you like a book can depend on the context of how you’re reading it. This was a book club book for me and because I was running out of time, I more read it to get it done versus actually taking it all in. So I’m definitely going to do a reread and a real rating will probably make it’s way onto a future wrap-up. I will say that there are some poems in this book that I absolutely loved and really relatable, and I think this is an important book and it discusses some really important topics. I also think it’s important because it gives us a less common perspective as it’s written by a Punjabi-Canadian poet.

 

Thank you for reading this far! I might go back and add more reviews in the future, we’ll see.

Love Always,

Belinda

Leave a Reply

