Steelheart – Brandon Sanderson

“Where there are villains, there will be heroes. Just wait. They will come.”


I’ve listened to this as an audiobook but the last 80 pages I had to finally finish off by reading the physical book and WOW! I’ve heard so many great things about Brandon Sanderson and this book lived up to the hype.

Steelheart is a dystopian novel set in a world where some people have been given special powers. They call themselves the Epics and they now rule over the world. Chicago has been turned into Newcago, a city turned to steel and ruled by the invincible Epic, Steelheart. When David was eight, Steelheart killed his father, but not before David saw that it was possible for Steelheart to bleed, and therefore killed. Seeking revenge, he hopes to team up with the Reckoners, a group of rebels fighting against the Epics, and bring end to Steelheart’s tyranny.

I feel like, listening to the audiobook, I wasn’t able to connect with the characters or the story as much as I would’ve reading the physical book, so the first half was kind of just okay. I liked all of the characters and how unique everyone was. They all have their quirks and I found that really fun. David with his inability to come up with good metaphors. Megan, the girl who gets the job done. Cody, the guy from Tennessee who is always talking about Scotland, the Homeland. Abraham, the profound Québécois. Tia, the woman behind the scenes. Prof, the mysterious leader.

I loved how the characters had accents in the audiobook, Abraham with his French accent, and especially Cody with his southern accent. It just brought out so much more in their character that I wouldn’t have caught on on by reading the book. Listening to it also made the story feel a little disjunct and not much seemed to be happening. It is the first book so it has to sets up this fantastical world and it does that really well, especially for how relatively short it is as sci-fi fantasy, and there certainly is a good amount of action in the first half but it just didn’t really seem to resonate with me.

What really stuns me about this book is how Brandon Sanderson is able to craft this incredibly detailed and unique world in such a short, relatively-speaking in terms of fantasy, book.

But the last 120 or so pages, in the audiobook and physical book, were just incredible. The action, the reveals, the pacing, the climax, it completely blew me away. I am still reeling from how amazing it was. I definitely want to reread the physical book and am so excited find out where the trilogy goes. So my rating for this book is probably a 4.5/5 stars.

4-5

Love always,

Belinda

Leave a Reply

