Top 16 Books of 2016

In the year 2016, I’ve read 111 books according to my Goodreads, although the actually number may vary. There are some books that I read twice this year because they were just that amazing and most of the novellas that are also counted were counted as their individual story and as a bind-up if the bind up exists. In no particular order other than the order I thought to write them, here are my top 16 books of 2016. I’ve also posted a video on my new BookTube channel.
1. Shatter Me Trilogy – Tahereh Mafi

I’m counting this trilogy as one because the whole thing was amazing and I kind of binge read them….but if I really had to pick a favorite out of the three, it would probably be Ignite Me because Warner my love!!!

2. Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo


Hands down this is my favorite book of all time. It was the first book I read this year and I also read it later before Crooked Kingdom. The characters, the story, the writing, the world, the topics it discusses, everything about it is incredible. It blew my mind.

3. The Grisha Trilogy – Leigh Barudgo


I also binged these books and I kind of don’t remember what exactly happens in each book, they kind of blur together. But there are aspects of each book that I absolutely loved and aspects that were… upsetting… *cough* the end of Ruin and Rising *cough* (Just let me sob now *insert sobbing emoji x 100*). The Darkling is my love, he’s not even on my book boyfriends list because he’s on a list of his own. Again let me sob.

4. Throne of Glass Series – Sarah J. Maas


Okay, so calling five books as one is kind of cheating, but I don’t know which is my favorite out of all of the ones I’ve read so far (I still need to read Empire of Storms….). This series is just an amazing series, the characters, the world, the writing, the everything. I know I’ve seen some criticism about this series and the characters acting “out of character” but it’s been four/five books and a lot has happen. People change and I think this series does a good job at portraying that. I also loved how each book has it’s own story arc that is established and resolved in that one book, but there is also the greater story arc of the series. It makes each ending slightly less painful. But considering five of them were already out (including The Assassin’s Blade), I didn’t have to suffer for long.

5. A Court of Mist and Fury – Sarah J. Maas


This book completely destroyed my life. I honestly couldn’t do anything for a week after I finished it. Every other word going through my mind was Rhysand, Velaris, and ACOMAF. I spent all my free time over two days reading this gigantic book and it felt like a months had passed. So much stuff happens and it’s glorious!!!!! I loved seeing Feyre’s story arc through this book and she actually inspired me to start seriously painting again when she started painting again. Also RHYSAND!!!!! I know I call everyone my love, but that High Lord of the Night Court is on another list of his own. He is my everything.

6. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han


You don’t know how much it means to me that a contemporary book exists with an asian main character who is the girl-next-door. I loved this book and its sequel. It’s so cute and fun. I was smiling the entire time I was reading it.

7. Illuminae – Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff


This book is the coolest book ever. I loved the different format of a dossier with texts, IM, emails, transcripts, etc. And I loved Kady’s character. As a computer science major, I loved that she’s a hacker and computer person and I love her bravery. I also loved Ezra who I think is hilarious. And of course AIDAN!

8. The Wrath and the Dawn – Renée Ahdieh


One of the most beautiful books ever. I loved that this book is a retelling of 1001 Nights and I loved that it’s set in the Middle-East. I think the culture there is so rich and old and beautiful and this book does really well capturing that and the magic there. I also loved the characters, Shazi and her strength and intelligence, Khalid and how passionate he is. He’s my number one book boyfriend (along with Kaz, Arin, and Warner because I refuse to choose).

9. The Raven King (The Raven Cycle) – Maggie Stiefvater


I never know how much I loved this series or how much this series meant to me until I started this book and realized it was almost over. These characters, Blue, Gansey, Ronan, Adam, Noah, Henry, just walked into my life and into my heart without me even realizing it until I had to say goodbye. I would love a chart with every character and how they ended up after this book because there are so many I still wonder about, but it was a good ending.

10. The Winner’s Curse – Marie Rutkoski


I loved this series, but I especially loved this first book. As a piano major, I loved that Kestrel played the piano and her connection to music. I felt like there’s a tendency to over romanticize music in books in comparison to how I relate to music, and I’m sure it’s totally different for everyone, but I just felt like it was more real. Even though Kestrel’s dad is a pretty terrible dad, I also really felt like I could connect with that relationship. And I also am in love with Arin and I love how complex he is and how is god is the god of death…. Oh Arin, how I love that boy.

11. Challenger Deep – Neal Shusterman


This book completely surprised me. I did not know going in that I would love this book as much as I did. I feel like for me it’s tougher to find books about mental illness that really resonate with me, but there was something about Challenger Deep that I fell in love with. i read it as an audiobook, and I actually prefer it as an audiobook because it felt so real and it felt like I was there. And I always love books that have two distinct storylines or aspects (as in the main story and an interwoven text) because I love looking for the line that connect between the two. This book had the Caden at home and then there was the Caden on a ship to the Marianas Trench. I just loved it.

12. The False Prince (Ascendance Trilogy) – Jennifer A. Nielsen

This book has always been one of my favorites and I reread it this year in audiobook format and it will forever be one of my favorite books. I loved Sage’s character, his wit, his intelligence. He is a genius and he’s incredibly brave and strong-willed.

I do realize how many times I’ve said love in this blog post and how many fictional boys that word has been associated with, but what can you do?

13. Anna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins


I can’t believe how long I put off this book. The name sounds corny and cliché but this book is amazing and so much fun. I loved that it took place in Paris because I do love Paris. I got to visit a couple summers back and I desperately want to take another trip there. And I think this book captures some other aspects of Paris that paint it more realistically versus the really romanticized version we get of Paris in TV, Movies, and other media.

14. The Mortal Instruments series – Cassandra Clare


I also can’t believe that I finally finished this series. It’s been eight years since I entered the Shadow World and it’s had it’s ups and downs, but this year I was determined to finish it. I had originally tried to read City of Heavenly Fire when it first came out in 2014, but I quit around 200 pages in because I had completely forgotten everything and I wasn’t very interested in the multiple POVs besides Clary and Jace. But this year I reread the whole thing and after 4 months of reading City of Heavenly Fire, I finally finished it this week! I kind of thought that I was done the Shadow World and Cassandra Clare’s books, I’ve read the Infernal Devices, was about to finish this series, but now that it’s over, I’m really sad. I guess I never really thought it would happen and I’ll miss these characters so much. But at least there’s still the Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy and I got roped into Lady Midnight once I found out it’s about revenge…. so I hope this isn’t a real goodbye. But if I had to pick a favorite out of all of the books it’s either City of Glass or City of Heavenly Fire (despite it taking forever for me to read).

15. The Wrong Side of Right – Jenn Marie Thorne


This is another book that really surprised me. Going into it, I never thought I’d like it as much as I did and I never thought that for weeks after I finished it, I would still be thinking about it. I think what really resonated with me in this book was the focus on family and there are so many mean stepmother / step-siblings stories and this one was the opposite. And I also really loved Andy. That boy is loads of fun! 🙂

16. Carry On – Rainbow Rowell


It’s been over a week since I’ve read this book and it’s still going through my mind. I live for Simon and Baz!!! The second Baz walked into the room I was cheering out loud, I hadn’t even formally met him yet in this book, but from what Simon was saying about him, I loved him. I so badly want to reread it, but I’ll probably wait until I finish reading the Harry Potter series so I can see how that ends up comparing….because I’ve only read the first Harry Potter book…on Christmas.

So that rounds up my “Top 16.” I had such a hard time picking these books, probably because my memory of what I read is terrible. And I also feel like I love books more as I’m reading them or right when I finish them and I end up forgetting that feeling as time moves on. So I guess some of these books are honorably on it.

I do realize how many times I’ve said love in this blog post and how many fictional boys that word has been associated with, but what can you do?

Did any of these books make your list?

Love Always,

Belinda

 

5 thoughts on “Top 16 Books of 2016

Leave a Reply

