Spring Reading Wrap-Up!

20 books, not bad. This spring semester of university was absolutely insane for me and I was in a reading slump and a life slump, so I’m actually surprised I got 20 books in between the months of February and May and I loved all of them. Most of the books I actually read during May, which is kind of funny since that’s when finals are, but I did a lot of binge and marathon reading.  A lot of these books are actually rereads and I’ve reviewed them in the past either in a blog post or in a YouTube wrap-up so I’ll add the link for those. And also, you can find more information about how I review on my about page.

(RR) = reread

Fantasy / Dystopian:

Winter – Marissa Meyer img_7614

Review in February Wrap-Up Video (7:10)

Wintersong – S. Jae-Jones 4

I think my favorite part of this book is the world it’s set in. It’s so alluring and enchanting and immensely dark, which I guess is why it’s so alluring and enchanting. The story and the characters on the other hand . . . there were many parts that kind of confused me and parts where I was like “why?” and Liesl really annoyed me because she just kept measuring her self-worth based on others opinions of her, which I guess was part of her arc, but that didn’t mean it wasn’t a struggle whenever she’d start talking about it again. But in the end this book really broke my heart and I did enjoy it and I’m really looking forward to the sequel.

Caraval – Stephanie Garber 4-5

I read this book for the book club I run at university and I really enjoyed it. It’s not perfect and I struggled a lot of the protagonist Scarlet because she makes some really stupid decisions all the time and she’

s very one-tracked minded, but I really loved the story, the world it’s set in, and also the writing. It was all just very whimsical and dark and mysterious and fantastical.

A Crown of Wishes – Roshani Chokshi img_7614

I’m not going to lie, there are parts of this book where I was confused as to what was happening, but loved this book so much I completely overlooked that! It’s about these two people who are invited to participate in the Tournament of Wishes in which they will compete to win a wish. Gauri wants the wish to regain her freedom and free her country from the tyranny of her older brother. Vikram the crown prince of a different country wishes to become more than just a puppet king. Roshani Chokshi just gets my humor. I had a smile on my face and I was laughing the entire time. Gauri and Vikram are the best and their banter is so perfect! Without doubt, Gauri is one of my all time favorite female characters out there. She’s so intelligent, strong, brave, and compassionate. I find her so admirable. And Vikram, he’s the best. He’s so cunning and hilarious. I’m very much in love with him. I also just love the world Roshani has created. It’s so magical and beautiful, but also dark and unexpected. I really hope this isn’t the last we’ll see of it.

Death and Night – Roshani Chokshi  img_7614

Flame in the Mist – Renee Ahdieh img_7614

This is our May Diversify the Verse book and I loved it so much! What is better than a retelling of 47 Ronin, Mulan, and Robin Hood wrapped into one, set in feudal Japan, and written by Renee Ahdieh? I loved the protagonist Mariko. She is such a strong and independent heroine, and as a girl in a STEM field, I especially loved how she’s an inventor and alchemist. I love her character arc throughout this book, it made me cry. Okami is also one of my newest book boyfriends because he is the best and I love him so much!

A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas  (RR) img_7614

A Court of Mist and Fury – Sarah J. Maas (RR) img_7614

A  Court of Wings and Ruin – Sarah J. Maas img_7614

I really loved ACOWAR and I’m so glad I reread ACOTAR and ACOMAF before hand because there are so many details I’d forgotten. Like it’s acronym, ACOWAR really centers on the war. I would say this is a lot more plot driven and it’s a lot more political with a good amount of action in it. I liked how we got to see more of the secondary characters and their arcs, and I absolutely loved how we got to see more of the Prythian in this book as we traveled through / visit more of the courts. It wasn’t as emotional as ACOMAF, but SJM really dragged me and these characters through the trenches in this book. But I forgive her because I really loved this book and I can’t wait to see what next in this series now that Feyre and Rhys story is complete.

Contemporary:

All American Boys – Jason Reynolds img_7614

This book will change your life! This is a book I really believe everyone should read because it is so relevant and so incredibly written.  All American Boys is the story of a black teenager named Rashad who one night gets falsely accused of stealing a bag of chips and is brutally beat by a white police officer. It also tells the story of Quinn, a classmate of Rashad, who sees the police officer as an older brother / father figure and was a witness to the act. Throughout the book we get to see both sides of the story and we can see why some people incline toward one side over the other and the implications of that event on their community. This was our first book for Diversify the Verse (YouTube live show) in February and I honestly read it twice, as a audiobook and as a physical book. The audiobook is amazing and it just brings the emotions and the story to another level. It’s absolutely heartbreaking.

The Secret of a Heart Note – Stacey Lee img_7614

This was our April book of the month for Diversify the Verse and I loved it so much (YouTube live show). This book tells the story of a girl named Mim and she and her mom are the last two aromateurs on earth. Aromateurs are people with a really strong sense of smell and they use that to create love potions, but the mom of Mim’s love interest, Court, mistakenly takes a love potion meant for someone else and she has to try and fix it before it’s too late. This was such a cute spring-y / summer-y book with loads of diverse characters. I loved Mim’s character and how she’s not trying to escape her life as an aromateur and how she takes her responsibilities so seriously. And I also loved Court, of course, because he’s such a sweetie and he says the cutest things. He would make these subtle, not so subtle, comments about liking her and I just died every time. Ahhh!!! I absolutely loved how honest their relationship is. I loved the writing and how scents are used to describe emotions and feelings. It was such an original and adorable book. I loved it!

Standing Up – Kate Forest img_7614

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han (RR)  img_7614


P.S. I Still Love You – Jenny Han (RR)  img_7614

Always and Forever, Lara Jean – Jenny Han img_7614

This series and this book just makes me so happy. I’m so glad we got a third book in the TATBILB series! There were so many cute and funny moments and this book just made me so nostalgic about the end of high school. And PETER KAVINKSY my love!!! He is the cutest, sweetest boy ever!!! I was always Team Peter, but this book just made me fall even more for him. I’ve loved seeing Lara Jean grow over this series and seeing her reach out of her comfort zone and try new things and be more involved. And also Kitty is the best! That girl is a scene stealer and she is so cunning and witty. I’ll miss these Song girls and Peter so much! This series will definitely stay one of my favorites always and forever.

Challenger Deep – Neal Shusterman (RR)  img_7614

This was a reread for Diversify the Verse’s April book (you can find our YouTube live show here) and I loved it just as much as I did the first time. I love books with metaphors and books that make you really think and going back and rereading it (this time in the physical format), I was really paying careful attention to everything and I loved just finding the lines that connect the book together. There are so many lines in this book that just made me go “whoa.” I think this is a book I can just keep rereading again and again and keep picking up on new things.

Graphic Novels:

Wires and Nerve, Vol. 1 – Marissa Meyer 3

Review in February Wrap-Up Video  (5:00)

Bandette, Vol 1: Presto! – Paul Tobin  4

Ms. Marvel, Vol 6: Civil War II – Willow G. Wilson img_7614

Poetry:

The Princess Saves Herself in this One – Amanda Lovelace img_7614

This was definitely a difficult read for me as some of these poems tackle the subject of child abuse, but it was also a really inspirational and moving collection of poetry. I got chills reading so many of the poems and found myself really relating to the poems about self-love, self-empowerment, and the poems about writing. I’ve seen some criticism about whether this counts as actual poetry since it’s in a more minimalist style with really short lines. To me format doesn’t matter, content does so I really, really loved it.


So that is it for my spring wrap-up! I’m hoping to do a YouTube video with all my reads from March-May along with haul soon. We’ll see if it happens, but I’ll make sure to link it if it does. I’m really hoping to read a ton this summer and catch up on my Goodreads goal, but I’m also going on a month long vacation out of the country so we’ll see what happens.

Thank you so much for reading! Let me know your thoughts if you’ve read any of these!

Love always,

Belinda ❤

Leave a Reply

